Expanded Consciousness

We don’t realize that we’re on a spiritual path when we are young. It is only later that the ‘strange’ events add up to a significant number of coincidences. Here are a few of mine.

Scared of the Dark

 

When I was a child, I used to see a grizzly bear in my bedroom when the lights were off. At least it seemed like a grizzly bear. I never did see it when the lights were turned on because it simply disappeared. But the ‘feeling’ was of a fierce creature.

But that wasn’t my only experience in the dark of my bedroom at night. I used to have the strangest of sensations when falling asleep. Somehow, I would grow like Alice in Wonderland, filling the room until there was room for no other. In the far off corner of the room, I could see the door silhouetted by the hall light, at an interesting but weird angle.

What I know now is that my consciousness was expanding before I was fully asleep.

Pseudo Epilepsy

The other strange quality of my childhood was the result of crying (or being upset in some way) and not being able to catch my breath. When that happened, I would pass out, and my breathing would be restored naturally.

The doctors told my Mom that it was a form of epilepsy and that I would outgrow it. As we now know from my post called “Hypnotherapy: a Personal Journey”, I never did outgrow it. It just waited until I was 39 and then I found the reason by regressing to my difficult birth.

As you can imagine, it was very inconvenient to pass out during a vigorous game of football. Most of the kids probably thought I was faking it.

ESP

When we lived in Windermere (in Muskoka, Ontario), the most excitement that sleepy village of 102 people had during the off-season after the (3,000+) tourists went home was if a fire broke out somewhere.

We lived in the Manse next to the Fire Hall. Whenever an alarm was sounded, the siren went off in our ears. One day, I heard through my bedroom window the sound of ‘Skippy’ Woods calling out to his grandmother. I couldn’t make out what he was saying, but the thought went through my head that he’d seen a fire somewhere. With that thought, the siren sounded, and the hair on the back of my neck stood up. It was my first conscious awareness of ‘knowing’ something ahead of time.

Reincarnation

As mentioned previously in “The Great Debate” I had a theory in High School which my more skeptical friends thought was ridiculous: the theory was Reincarnation. In my naivety, I tried to explain that when we reach our death in one life, we pick up from exactly the same point at the moment of our birth in the next. You can imagine the roastings I got. That’s probably why I am sympathetic to the Cathars of the South of France in the 13th Century.

Why I should be precocious enough to expound such concepts in 1965, I shall never know, because I had been raised as a preacher’s kid, and that kind of stuff should normally have been erased before it took seed.

Young Hypnotist

After my Mom hypnotized me to help with my Latin studies, I thought I could do the same for others. It turned out that during my first summer as a 16 year old Day Camp Counsellor, I had to stay overnight in the camp (together with three local senior campers) in Penetanguishene. The camp had been vandalized the previous couple of nights, so the ‘powers that be’ decided someone needed to protect the campgrounds.

The three senior campers were so nervous, that I suggested I would ‘talk to them’ and help them calm down. I basically took them through a light hypnotic induction, gave them post-hypnotic suggestions that they would be able to sleep peacefully, and then brought them back to waking consciousness.

I didn’t tell them that they’d been hypnotized, or they would have told their parents, who would have complained to the authorities. (You can see where this would have gone.) I asked them how much time they thought had passed. They all agreed on five minutes, so you can imagine their chagrin when I told them it had been more like 50 minutes. Needless to say, they had a peaceful night’s sleep and the campgrounds were intact in the morning.

Astrology

In 1977, I came across an advertisement in a magazine. I have no idea, now, what that magazine was about. The ad suggested that for $3.49, a birth date, place and time, the applicant would receive a printout that would explain their characteristics. What harm could that do? I thought.

When the computer printout came back, I was quite interested in what it would relate to me. Reading it, I kept saying, over and over again, “How could they know that?” It sparked my life-long interest in the subject, and slowly led me down that career path.

Psychic England

I used to wonder if it was something in the water that made the English so spiritual. Of course, they have a long history of nature worship, Druidism and Wicca, but there was something more to it than that. Turns out, it was probably the Ley Lines that are anchored in the British Isles. My moving there in 1985 was the start of my further psychic development.

To begin with, I partnered with Kate, my Astrologer friend, in her “Made in Heaven” business. She would get the information, I would draw the charts (by hand in those days) and then sit down with her to discuss what I’d uncovered in the process. She used to say to me, “How do you know that?” I would respond, “I don’t know!”

Healing Circle

It was through Kate that different aspects of spirituality were presented to me. She had been attending a healing circle run by a woman named Cynthia. It met once a week at Cynthia’s home, and in essence we learned to use our hands as tools for spiritual healing.

In the beginning, I would try to touch the aching back of the person I was to heal, but I was soon shown that holding the hands away from, but near, the afflicted area was much more powerful.

Then Cynthia invited us to join her Psychic Development Circle, and that is where I started to experiment with energy while the group held hands (in a circle) before the other work began. It was a bit cheeky of me, but what I found was that I could ‘influence’ the energy to reverse direction, so that instead of running counter-clockwise, I could make it go clockwise. The other sitters used to experience the effects of this as a thump of energy when they were holding hands in the circle.

Hypnotherapy

By 1990, I was living full-time in Torquay, instead of commuting there on weekends from Berkshire, where I’d been working until late 1989. So there was a bit of a void, as I was definitely underemployed.

I decided to take the ‘mail-order’ training course offered by Neil French’s Hyonotherapy Centre (Bournemouth) and after six months qualified as a fully-fledged member of the International Association of Hypno-Analysts. I then advertised my services in the local Herald Express and hoped that my career would take off through word-of-mouth.

Within three years, I was hankering to have a ‘normal’ job again. Hypnotherapy was not paying the bills.

Fountain International

 

During this same time frame, I joined a loose-knit band of spiritual seekers whose main philosophy was that ‘a few moments of your time each day was all that was needed to heal your community.’ I was their Treasurer for a number of years, and enjoyed contributing to their Magazine, while sometimes editing it.

Along the way I met a great many individuals, including David Lowe (you know him by his pseudonym Lewis Adler), and I learned how to use dowsing rods.

I also visited some very important historical sites, including Montsegur, Stonehenge, Glastonbury Tor, and Rennes-le-Chateau. My present interest in Gnosticism was the result.

Conclusion

So, that’s a little bit of my story: from childhood fears to far-flung lands. I hope you’ve enjoyed the ride with me. And if you have any questions about any of these topics, feel free to ask me. Bless.

About cdsmiller17

I am an Astrologer who also writes about world events. My first eBook "At This Point in Time" is available through most on-line book stores. I have now serialized my second book "The Star of Bethlehem" here. And to give my blog pages something lighter, I'm sharing some of my personal photographs, too.
This entry was posted in personal, spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

