Apports: Pennies from Heaven

When a loved one dies, we grieve. After a while, we realize that life goes on. We might start to forget about that loved one as we go about our daily lives. What if the loved one doesn’t want to be forgotten? What can they do, send you ‘pennies from heaven’?

An Apport

 

I remember reading a book about Matthew Manning years ago, in which a feature of his psychic ability was described as being able to materialize physical things out of thin air. Most of us think magicians do that, but all they’re doing is using sleight-of-hand. This is different. But Matthew was certain that the one doing the materialization of physical objects was someone in spirit.

“According to parapsychologists and spiritualists, an apport is the paranormal transference of an article from one place to another, or an appearance of an article from an unknown source that is often associated with poltergeist activity or spiritualistic séances.” (Wikipedia)

Admittedly, Matthew Manning did have a fair amount of poltergeist activity around him as a youth, so it’s not too much of a stretch to imagine he could have been the cause of the phenomenon. But he was adamant that it came from ‘the other side’.

Here is an recent interview with Matthew about that time in his life. http://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/comment/articles/2014-05/08/matthew-manning-healer-contact-interview

Perhaps, he’s right. But I think we need much more information and experience to understand what he’s been trying to say all these years.

Some Personal Apports

 

After my mother died in 2003, I did what any son would do: I missed her terribly. But I had a job to do, a relationship to maintain, and a spiritual philosophy that reminded me that she might not be visible, but she was still around, somehow.

And then I started finding five pence pieces everywhere. On the pavement, down the town, in shopping malls, anywhere and everywhere I went. I lost count of how many of these coins I found, but every time I picked one up, I ‘knew’ that my mom had left it for me.

It got to the point that, instead of looking at the world that I was passing, I was keeping my head down and my eyes peeled for sight of a glint of light reflecting off a coin.

Turns on a Dime

 

When I moved back to Canada in October 2007, I thought that my coin finding days were at an end. Susan and I were walking on a deserted Wasaga Beach soon afterwards (before the snow set in). I casually mentioned to Susan about my mom’s trail of coins and jokingly said that if she wanted to she would let me find one right now.

With that said, I spied a silver glint in the sand, reach down and picked up a dime!

You can’t make things like this up. (Well, you can, but I didn’t…) The dime and the five pence coin are identical in size, so, much as I was amazed, I realized that mom had been sending me the equivalent of a dime while I lived in England, and now that I was back home she could give me the ‘real’ thing.

She was probably thinking the line, “Buddy, can you spare a dime?”

Pennies from Heaven

Well, then it started again, didn’t it? I began finding dimes everywhere. At Christmas that year, I bought Susan a tin coin bank to hold the found money in. But then something changed. Susan started finding pennies.

At first, we joked that her father was getting in on the act (he’d died in 2006), but then as the pennies became more numerous than the dimes, we came to understand that he was showering her with ‘pennies from heaven‘.

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/0Xw0da8ZUpo?rel=0

It’s another way of saying ‘Count your blessings.”

Conclusion

In our materialistic world, it is too easy to explain away a spiritual phenomenon such as apports as being linked to an over active imagination. What if people really did live on after death, and when they become able to cause physical things to appear for those left behind, they do so?

Some will say that those coins were where they were found because some other people lost them. And they would be right, but the message contained in their being found again is obvious, isn’t it?

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/VdQY7BusJNU?rel=0

“If you’re lost, you can look and you will find me, Time After Time” (Cyndi Lauper 1984)

(…dime after dime…)

 

Picture credit: Matthew Manning (UK Healer) Facebook

About cdsmiller17

I am an Astrologer who also writes about world events. My first eBook "At This Point in Time" is available through most on-line book stores. I have now serialized my second book "The Star of Bethlehem" here. And to give my blog pages something lighter, I'm sharing some of my personal photographs, too.
This entry was posted in personal, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apports: Pennies from Heaven

  1. Pingback: Order of the Rose Cross | cdsmiller17

Leave a Reply

