Winkin’, Blinkin’ and Nod

Image

 

In the history of mankind, there is only one thing that is the same for everyone: the need to sleep. When we were young, our mothers sang us lullabies to help us get there. Here’s a poem I wrote for my daughters, but when they were young they would not have understood the allusions. Will they today?

 

 

Ninth Lullaby

 

Now is the time for ev’ryone to sleep:

Orion’s stopped his hunting for the night;

Nowhere is waiting in the pale Moon’s light;

And slumber overtakes the Shepherd’s sheep.

Night, sweet dreams, my child, may your rest be deep:

In a few short moments you’ll be out of sight;

Nostalgia will slip down from left to right;

No longer will you care what the day can keep.

Away you’ll sail into the world of dreams:

Neptune’s domain, the mirrored inner side;

As soon as you’ve arrived you’ll be aware,

Not of usual scenes, but of all your schemes,

Negotiated at birth, to be tried

Amongst the living, if you really dare.

 

About cdsmiller17

I am an Astrologer who also writes about world events. My first eBook "At This Point in Time" is available through most on-line book stores. I have now serialized my second book "The Star of Bethlehem" here. And to give my blog pages something lighter, I'm sharing some of my personal photographs, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winkin’, Blinkin’ and Nod

  1. cdsmiller17 says:

    ‘Nona ninna nanna’ means ‘ninth lullaby’ in Italian.

    Like

Leave a Reply

